Thread: A good place to buy helmet locally?

1. Question A good place to buy helmet locally?

I am new to the Autocross scene and my DOT approved motorcycle helmet is not good enough to meet the requirement. So I need to get a new helmet.

I'd like to get one locally as I want to try them on and see how they fit. And preferably as cheap as possible... Please recommend shops I should check out.

Thanks!

Re: A good place to buy helmet locally?

Quote Originally Posted by iambeetle View Post
    I am new to the Autocross scene and my DOT approved motorcycle helmet is not good enough to meet the requirement. So I need to get a new helmet.

I'd like to get one locally as I want to try them on and see how they fit. And preferably as cheap as possible... Please recommend shops I should check out.

Thanks!

drivers edge on boundary

lets u try helmets, knowledgeable about fitment, and prices are close to online us retailer pricing
    very fair, support local guys

While I'd also recommend Driver's Edge for helmets (among other things), in this case since it seems like the OP is also a motorcycle rider, an acceptable option is whichever motorcycle dealership you normally visit.

Bear in mind that for autox, both SA and M rate helmets are acceptable for use as long as they are SNELL certified (within the acceptable years). If I am not mistaken, I *think* M-rated SNELL helmets are also acceptable for our VCMC track day as well (though other organizations may only accept SA-rated SNELL helmets for lapping days).
    Rick Leung
    one of the old farts; used to be somewhat fast

NC Miata (aka Nancy) - #10 STR
    DE Mazda2 - #29 STF -- the fastest 2015 STF car in the province!

4. Re: A good place to buy helmet locally?

I looked at Driver's Edge's website and their full face helmets are all over 350 bucks... That's quite a bit.